Harriet Tubman Award logo
Arian Taylor receives the 2018 TAT Harriet Tubman Award.

About the Award

In 2013, Truckers Against Trafficking (TAT) created an award to honor members of the trucking industry whose direct actions impacted those victimized by human trafficking. That award has now been expanded to include members of the bus and energy sectors as well. The goal is to recognize those whose actions helped to recover the exploited, improve the lives of victims or prevent human trafficking and/or sexual exploitation from taking place.

The winner earns a $2,500 check and will be presented the award at Protective Insurance’s biggest event of the year, the Protective 500.

The award is named in honor of Harriet Tubman, the famed abolitionist credited with using the Underground Railroad to transport enslaved people to freedom. She was never caught and never lost a passenger.

“Because of Harriet Tubman’s connection to transportation through the Underground Railroad and her heroic work to free enslaved people, TAT believes she epitomizes the symbol of freedom that a trucking and/or busing anti-trafficking award represents. We decided an award of this magnitude was important to present, because we want to be able to know about and recognize — both at the local and national level — the real truckers against trafficking and celebrate their efforts both within and out of the industry.”

Kendis Paris, Co-Founder of Truckers Against Trafficking

Nomination Process

Anyone wishing to be considered for this award or who knows someone who should be considered for this award, should: Either contact TAT directly at info@truckersagainsttrafficking.org or contact your company executives, state association or school with the following information and have them fill out a report and send it to info@truckersagainsttrafficking.org:

  • First and last name of the person or people involved in making the call.
  • Date, time and location of the call made to the NHTH – 1-888-3737-888 – or to local law enforcement
  • How did the hotline (NHTH) and law enforcement respond?
  • What is the name of the police department that responded?
  • What happened when police came? Was anyone arrested (pimp, john, victim)?
  • Do you know if the victim was able to access victim services through the hotline?
  • Contact information of the person submitting this nomination

Once TAT has vetted the information, if there is a success story, the nomination will be submitted to the TAT award selection committee for consideration.

Criteria and Selection

This information will be vetted by TAT’s award selection committee. For company or school employee winners, both you and your company/school will be contacted concerning the award. Your company/school will receive a duplicate of the award you receive, so it can be displayed in your honor. The company/school award will be sent to the company, while the actual Harriet Tubman Award will be presented at the Protective 500 event. If you’re an independent driver, you will be contacted about the award. All Harriet Tubman award winners will be honored in TAT’s publications and on our website.

Truck icon


Potential honorees must be employed by the truck, bus or energy industries.

Phone icon

Phone Call

The event/situation being considered for the award must have resulted in a call to the National Human Trafficking Hotline (NHTH) or local law enforcement.

Notebook icon


Nominators must be able to provide all of the details requested for the event or situation resulting in the call.

Past Award Winners

2022 Harriet Tubman Award winners


Nicole Cavicante, Laura Figueroa and Kirk Rayer
EMBARK employees

Read more

Jessica Chapman pic


Jessica Chapman
Sapp Bros. Travel Center employee

Read more

2019 Protective Insurance Indy 500 - Stacy Able Photography


Lauren Gnall and Larren Tarver
Lakefront Lines employees

Read more

arian taylor truckers against trafficking harrient tubman award winner


Arian Taylor
Ballard Trucking driver

Read more



Debo Adepiti and Alan Bailey
Travel Centers of America employees

Read more



Kevin Kimmel
Con-Way Truckload driver

Read more

Harriet Tubman Award logo


Tracy Mullins
General manager of the Petro Stopping Center®

Read more